December 13, 1997

Every Christmas my sister Millie sends me an adult video she finds at a truck stop on 94 and every Christmas I tell her the location of one of the eggs I hid in the basement of her house.

She took the place after our parents passed and when she moved in, she noticed a funny smell that come outta the ducts when the heat come on. Turns out the source of the smell was an egg I painted camouflage for Easter when I was thirteen. It was hidden on a rafter behind the basement stove and you wouldn’t think it but you can still smell the sulfur from those things forty years after they’ve turned green and split from age.

I think I hid three dozen eggs in that basement that year, after Millie told me there was no such thing as a Easter Bunny and that the baskets of soap and pennies that appeared in our living room each year were actually put there by our mom. I guess I never really got over it cause I still make Millie bribe me for the locations of those eggs.

I’m not sure why we never smelled those rotten eggs when we were living there. Maybe the smell was covered up by all the methane our dad used moonshining in that basement.

Leave a comment